Post #1, Introduction

My name is Kelsey Knoche and I am a junior Broadcast Journalism major here at the University of Maryland. I am from Northern Virginia (Annandale) and have lived in the D.C. area my entire life.

I don’t have any extensive journalism experience as of now, but am planning to intern at ESPN980 this summer. Since I came to Maryland I’ve worked as a Student Assistant for the men’s basketball team where I am in charge of a number of things, from the planning of recruiting visits to our summer camps. I have really enjoyed the experience and it’s definitely made me interested in working in a college athletic department after graduation. Despite majoring in a somewhat specific field, I’m really not incredibly interested in being a journalist when I graduate. I would, however, be interested in working for an athletic team’s media relations office, so some of the skills I’ve learned and classes I’ve taken will definitely be useful should I pursue that field.

I have experience using both Adobe Photoshop and Adobe InDesign. I used both quite a bit in high school when I worked on my school’s newspaper and we also spent a few weeks focusing on Photoshop in JOUR203 (Introduction to Multimedia Skills). I’m very interested in social media, especially Twitter, and have used it a lot in both my personal and academic life. Twitter is now my main avenue for hearing about news stories, especially breaking news, and I think it’s really become such an interesting part of journalism.

As of now, I do not have any real experience with HTML, CSS, Dreamweaver of WordPress so I am looking forward to learning more about them in addition to some of the online interactive tools we are planning on covering. I think the class will be very interesting and informative and I am looking forward to this semester!

Leave a comment